Disturbing, fast-pace, and addicting crime novel

  Karin Slaughter has crafted a mind-blowing novel of unspeakable violence and murder.  The story spans decades and focuses on a family with three sisters:  Julia, Lydia, and Claire.   Julia goes missing when she is 19 years-old and has not been found.   Her family is splintered.  Her dad becomes obsessed with finding her and he begins to fall apart which leads to a break in his once picture perfect marriage,  Lydia starts down a path of self-destructive while Claire is left behind to figure things out as a 13 year-old.

Forward 20 year,  another 19 year-old girl has vanished, and the community is desperate for answers.  Lydia and Claire have not spoken in these 20 years, and their father is dead and their mom is remarried.  Claire is married to a millionaire architect, Paul Scott.  While Lydia has cleaned herself up and owns her business.  She has a 17 year-old daughter and is in a good relationship with a man named Rick.   Lydia and Claire are “reunited” and begin to piece together the events of the past that tore their family apart years before.  What they discover is horrifying and beyond their worst nightmares.   They both find themselves in danger with no way of knowing who they can trust.  Will they discover the truth and make things right?  Are they able to repair the damage done to their family those 20 years ago and move on?

This book is full of action and suspense and really, really creepy and disturbing violence…truly unspeakable.  If a scene became too much for me….I would skim through it and move on.  This is reason #42 that I love books over watching movies….I can control the images in my head.  I get to decide what I see and how much I see….though I do admit there are many times that my mind takes over and I see more than I thought and these images stay with me far longer than I had anticipated.  Karin Slaughter knows how to weave a story of not only psychologically chilling scenes and emotions, but she knows how to target the worst and the best of human beings and put it down on paper.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, fiction, mystery

Leave a Reply

