I apologize….I just can’t

screen-shot-2016-12-18-at-8-30-10-am   I will begin by apologizing, I have only read 123 pages in this miserable book.   This will not be a fair review to be certain, but I just can’t continue to read it.  I can count on one hand the number of books that I have started and have not finished.  It is not something that I do.  And it makes me sad that I will not be able to record this in my book journal as a completed book even though I spent more time on it than I should have.  Time that could have been spent on something more deserving.

I have never read a Patricia Cornwell novel/book/collection of rambling nonsense, so it may not have been wise for me to jump in on book #24.  But alas, that is what I did.  Dr. Kay Scarpetta is a medical examiner who married some pretentious government worker who thinks very highly of himself….he is not a likable character, or perhaps he was just having a bad day in those 123 pages.  His name is even a bit obnoxious…Benton.    Kay is walking through a park to something….somewhere.  It is really hot, but she continues to walk.  (lots of description here).  She gets a call from her boss….they fight and he reacts like a teenage boy.   She has a run-in with a young British cyclist…who I think will be the dead body in the upcoming pages.   Description of Kay walking….freshening up….going to dinner with jackass husband….description of their meal.  More weird, nonsensical phone calls…..apparently involving Interpol and a dead body.  Lots of internal monologues (which I had to skip…..just awful and random).

So I am at page 123….there is supposedly a dead body…have yet to learn anymore, and yet I will be able to sleep just fine tonight without knowing.  I went to Goodreads and discovered that I am not alone in my assessment about this book. Perhaps Cornwell has decided that she has earned enough money from her books, and she can now resort to pumping out garbage to her fans, and they will throw their money at her.  Luckily, this book was given to me for a review, so I have only lost a few hours of my life.

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, fiction, mystery

Leave a Reply

