Love this!

Language of Flowers (ISBN10: 0345525558; ISBN13: 9780345525550)  This book was recommended by my friend Kristin, and she said she just loved the story.  So I had to get a copy ASAP, and I could not wait to get a hard copy, so I downloaded it to my iPad (I am getting more comfortable reading eBooks, but I am still prefer the real pages in my hand.  It is nice to be able to get a book within 30 seconds and start it immediately.  But then I find I have a need to own the actual copy, so this is one on my list to buy).   The book is called The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh, and it is wonderful.

The story  follows the life of Victoria, a young woman abandoned as a baby and has lived her childhood in the care of the foster system.  The book is divided into 4 parts and flashes between her childhood and the present.  Victoria had a foster-mother, Elizabeth, who she came to love dearly.   This woman taught her not only the love of flowers, but their meanings and how to communicate through the flowers.   [Sidenote: here is a little known nerdy fact about myself: before I had children, Dave & I spent a lot of time camping and hiking.  During these trips, I would carry a camera to take pictures of flowers.  I would develop them and then research them in my little Peterson’s Field Guide of Wildflowers.  I created an album of them.  I am sure if I searched hard enough, I may be able to locate this album.  So when I began to read this story, I felt a connection to Victoria who researched flowers and scoured libraries for books on flowers and their meanings.  I actually keep lavender in my bedroom because it is supposed to ward off anger, and then I read this book to discover lavender means mistrust…hmmmm…more research to follow.]

A horrible event happens that causes Victoria to be removed from Elizabeth’s home and live the rest of her childhood alone and bitter in a group home.  She is released at 18 and her life begins.  The story that follows is of struggle, hope, love, and the strength of the human spirit.  A quick read and one you won’t soon forget.

1 Comment

Filed under adult, fiction

One response to “Love this!

  1. Totally agree. Great book!

Leave a Reply

