“The Final Volume of the Wicked Years”

maguire  I have in my hands the conclusion to The Wicked Series by Gregory Maguire entitled Out of Oz.  I must warn you that I have only read Wicked, and this was ages ago….way before the musical came about.  And, I did not read the two books that came between….(YIKES!).  [Those books are Son of a Witch and A Lion Among Men]   I have read many of Maguire’s other books, and I have adored his perspective and spin on an old story.  I love the way he takes the characters we all believe we know so well, and he helps us see things differently….he helps us realize things are not so black and white.

In this installment, he provides the reader with maps, family trees, and a brief description on the previous books….which was a tremendous aid to someone like me who is missing a few pieces to the puzzle.  The story begins with Dorothy (I am under the understanding that she has been absent since Wicked, but I could be mistaken).  Dorothy’s Aunt Em and Uncle Henry have sold everything to take her to see parts of the world to help her deal with her delusions….mental illness….obsession with OZ.  She has become some sort of freak in Kansas, and there seems to be no hope for her.  They head to San Francisco and spend the night.  The date is April 18, 1906.  You can see where this is heading……..(I will allow some time for you to google the date….if you need to  ; ))

In the Land of Oz, there is much chaos and Emerald City and Munchkinland are at odds, Glinda is on house arrest and the Cowardly Lion is on the run.  All very chaotic.  I do not want to reveal too much of the plot….but it is fast-paced and cleverly written…once again.  I am just a little unsure of the ending….it could be due to the fact that I have not read the entire series…..I must go back and do so.   I do recommend this novel for those who loved Wicked and the other tales that followed. A must read to complete this epic story.

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, Fantasy, fiction

Leave a Reply

