Battle of the Book Favorite

  After a month of neglect, I am back.   It has been a whirlwind of a month adjusting to the new school year both for myself and my four boys.  We are starting to get into a rhythm….and I couldn’t be more pleased.  I feel like I am running on empty far too often.  I have been reading….reading and running are two of my stress relievers….I would be a pile of mush without them.  I just have not had the opportunity to sit down and write up anything.  The Battle of the Books competition, that I hold along with my friend Sue, is less than two weeks away.  We have 46 teams of 5th and 6th graders registered who have been reading from a list of 12 books.  They have been busy working with their sponsors to prepare for the competition.  I am so excited for them and so proud of their hard work…..but what I really love is how much they love this competition, and how it has helped created real readers….lovers of books.   Students tell me that they would never have picked up  some of the titles on the list.  Girls who didn’t think they would enjoy a story of a boy surviving in the Maine woods on his own, boys who did not want to read any book with a main character who is a girl, students who thought they hated historical fiction or fantasy….a lot of them will become true book lovers by the day of the competition.

I have asked the students to tell me their favorites from the list.  This year it was Because of Mr. Terupt….hands down….no debate.  (I have posted the review for that one on a previous post.)  Let me tell you….when I told the students that the sequel to this book comes out October 9th…..I was greeted with squeals of delight and requests for me to purchase the book for the library straight away.  Several told me they have pre-ordered it.  Now that is cool.

So that brings me to their second favorite book…..Savvy by Ingrid Law.  This is the story of soon-to-be 13 year-old Mississippi Beaumont A.K.A,  Mibs.  She is the middle child….two older brothers (Rocket & Fish) and two younger siblings (Samson & Gypsy).  Their family is unique….unusual….is a most fantastic super natural way.  On their 13th birthday, each family member (usually) acquires a SAVVY….a special ability that no one else seems to have.  They do not know ahead of time what their savvy will be or when they will attain it….just sometime on their 13th birthday.   Rocket has the ability to control electricity and Fish has a power over water and created a hurricane on his 13th birthday….not on purpose, of course.   I really love Momma Beaumont’s savvy….everything she does is perfect….even when she messes up….she messes up perfectly.  I like to pretend that is my savvy.

So, it is a few days away from Mibs’ 13th birthday….she is filled with excitement and anxiety waiting and wondering what her savvy will be….when tragedy strikes.  Mibs’ father is in a terrible accident in another city, and it is not looking good.  Momma heads out there to be with Poppa leaving the kids with family.  Rightly so, Mibs’ birthday plans are put on hold, but Mibs believes in her heart that her Savvy will help save her father’s life and decides with the help of a few friends and family….to steal a bus and get to the hospital so she can be with Poppa on her 13th birthday and save his life.  What follows is a life adventure…coming-of-age for Mibs…..an unforgettable story.

Leave a comment

Filed under children, fiction

Leave a Reply

