Crime in Sweden

    So I have been away from the blog for some time….not away from reading mind you….just writing.  Our family had 2 more trips in August, and then I headed to Columbia, MD to compete in the Iron Girl Triathlon and then before I knew it….back to school.  I am now back with a list of  books to add plus I will be creating a post soon about the Battle of the Books which I host for my students in 5th and 6th grade….lots of wonderful books on that list that I will be sharing.  So please don’t think I have forgotten you….

Anyway, this book is called Unwanted by Swedish author Kristina Ohlsson, and it is a whirlwind of crime, love, jealousy, sex and murder.  This is the third crime-based author I have read and am yet again impressed.  The story starts on a train where a mother and her young daughter board together.  All seems to be going perfectly fine, but at one of the pitstops….mom gets out to take a call.  It is during this time that her daughter vanishes.  The action starts immediately….my mind began to work quickly.  What happened?  Where did she go?  Who was on the train?  Why?  We are introduced to the police force….2 men and a women in particular who are assigned to this case which begins to reveal more than just a missing child.  The story goes to dark places…some things people do are just plan icky.

The police try to locate the little girl’s father. but they are not successful….he seems to have vanished.  He becomes #1 suspect….the book twists and turns…at one point I thought I had it all figured out only to realize I was half right.  (Reason #46 I am not a detective.)  I read feverishly until I had the book finished, and then had to text my wonderful friend with my thoughts (she had read it previously)…there is something magical about sharing a good book with someone.

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, fiction, mystery

Leave a Reply

