A must have for women runners

  As a runner and a mom, I found this book a welcome read.  Kristin Armstrong, Lance Armstrong’s ex-wife, is positive, inspiring and entertaining as she explains 26.2 Most Important Reasons Why Women Run.  Now, let me preface this by saying….I would recommend reading this book in pieces.  If you feel like you need some motivation…read a few sections and then once you have been inspired, motivated, entertained….then set it down for a while.  Kristin is a FAST runner….she runs with FAST women.  She is an extremely positive person even through all she has encountered in her life.  These are all wonderful things, but after reading her reasons….you may grow a little weary of her optimism.  I don’t mean to sound all smile-upside-down -kind of girl, I just believe her book is not meant to be read in one sitting.  If I did read it all I once, I may have found myself grabbing a Ritter’s dark chocolate bar instead of my running shoes.

So luckily for you, I have read it in pieces and was quite delighted.  I could relate to her passion as a mother and a runner. I understand the friendship that bonds female runners.  I run with a group of amazing women regularly, and I could not imagine my life without them or the conversations we have. I could relate to her love of real food. She loves her children more than anything and this comes through in her words.

She has the book broken into sections:  i.e. mothers, kids, identity, freedom,hills, race day, roadblocks, etc.  The stories are short and easy to breeze through.  I am going to keep this book handy for when I need a little extra motivation or maybe just something to make me smile.

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, nonfiction

Leave a Reply

